

BY-LAWS OF THE LOESS AND PEDOSTRATIGRAPHY WORKING GROUP

The by-laws below provide the framework for the day-to-day running of the Loess and Pedostratigraphy Working Group (LPWG).

1. Meetings

1.1. LPWG's Scientific "Loessfest" Meeting

- 1.1.1. The Group will hold a "Loessfest" Meeting approximately every four years, and on even-numbered years.
- 1.1.2. The host location will be selected based on the right of entry to scientists irrespective of their place of residence or nationality.
- 1.1.3. Bids for hosting the Loessfest will be submitted to the Committee for formal approval. In the event of several bids the Committee will decide the location of the next "Loessfest".
- 1.1.4. "Off-schedule" LoessFests may also be run in intervening years, as long as they meet the above criteria and are on even-numbered years. No more than one LoessFest shall be run in any given year.

1.2. *Regional Loess Science Meeting*

- 1.2.1. Scientific meetings will be organised in accordance with the aims of the Group.
- 1.2.2. The arrangements for Regional Loess Science Meetings will be the responsibility of the Regional Vice-President.

2. Awards

- 2.1. The following awards will be given during the "Loessfest" Meeting:
- 2.1.1. The Ana Conea Award. This medal is reserved for Early Career Researchers to award one or more outstanding contributions in any aspects of loess and palaeosol research. Any scientist within eight years from completing their PhD can be a recipient of this award. Nomination procedures and deadlines for submission shall be posted on the LPWG website.

- 2.1.2. The George Kukla Medal is named in recognition of the contributions of George Kukla to loess research. The medal is awarded for distinguished service to the international loess community. Nomination procedures and deadlines for submission shall be posted on the LPWG website.
- 2.2. Other awards and medals may be established by the Committee.